Getting Ready

17 05 2012

By: Sarah Wang

Hi! My name is Sarah Wang, and I am a rising junior from Cary, NC. I am a Chemistry major, hoping to minor in Biology and Psychology. I am so excited to be participating in the DGHI SRT program, and it will be my first time in Kenya. I have been interested in the health sciences field since high school. Upon coming to Duke, I discovered and fell in love with global health. I am really interested in the differences and similarities among the different health care systems around the world. When I participated in DukeEngage in Beijing last summer, I got the chance to visit a Beijing hospital, and I was fascinated by their unique way of providing healthcare.

Therefore, in addition to studying child malnutrition and cognitive development, maternal health, and water usage in Kunya, Kenya, I hope to shadow and work in the local clinic. I am thrilled to be able to work with children again, including toddlers in the orphanage, primary school students, and secondary school students. I am also looking forward to visiting individual homes in Kunya to talk with mothers about their birthing practices and perceptions of child nutrition and cognitive development. I hope to learn some of the Luo language there and immerse myself in their culture.

Thank you for reading my post, and please look forward to more from me every week. We are in Kenya from mid-May to mid-July. Again, I am so excited!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

