Diligent Hands

13 06 2010

The team is trained and we are ready to get to work. On Saturday, after a week of training, piloting, and doing surveys at Parque Central, we went to Colonia San Miguel and did some door to door surveying. It was a huge success.

The team did a great job and my spanish is getting good enough for me to do surveys myself, unbelievable! The picture to the right shows myself (far left), Dra. Duron, and the rest of the survey team. We collected about 130 surveys from going door to door.

Special update…..The electricity just went out – my Honduran mama, Marina, and sisters were saying that the lights went out in Honduras, Nicaragua, and El Salvador because they are all on the same grid. Anyway, the word on my little wind up radio from LL.Bean was that they shut the power off in Honduras in order to stop an impending protest against the government. Where I stay is surrounded by 10ft walls and barbed wire, so I am safe, don’t worry. I am writing this post again so the electricity is obviously back on.

Anyway, I told Marina back in January that I would make pizza when I returned to Honduras for the summer. Tonight I did, under candle light and in a gas stove. It came out great, and while we were waiting for the electricity to come back on we were indulging in some homemade pizza and italian stuffed bread. The ingredients are very basic, so I had no trouble picking them up at the supermarket.

I leave at 7am tomorrow because traffic here is ridiculous, I mean insane. It is worse during rush hour here than any place I have been. It literally takes 1.5 hours to get to a place that should take 15min. And worse, since nobody follows the laws when they drive and are super aggressive, if you do not cut someone off, you will never be able to merge into a lane or cross traffic.

Below are some pictures I took in La Victoria, rural village I visited this past weekend. I went with a group to La Victoria. La Victoria is a place that you will not find on any map. It is south of Tegucigalpa and very rural. We drove for about 1.5 hours on a dirt road replete with pot holes and rivers running across it. Our driver Miguel was wonderful. He even shook a mango tree for us to gather some fresh mangos. The people in this village do not have electricity or running water, and they subsistent farm. I did not see any health posts but did see a Farmacia on the way there (maybe 1 hour away by car). One older woman hurt her hip and has been in bed for 6 years, she says. Another said she was able to get medicine for her high blood pressure, but somehow it caused her arm to go limp and face to lose feeling. It seems that she had a stroke. It was a good for me to get acquainted with more Honduran culture because in order for me to do good work here I must be aware of the many intricacies of these fascinating people. So, although I did not do any formal research today, I gained invaluable knowledge about Honduran people and culture first-hand. These pictures do not do justice, but I hope you enjoy them.

The road leading into La Victoria.

The church that the people from Mision Caribe recently built.

A view from the top of the mountain. From this point you can see 360 degrees of mountains.

Myself with Mariella, who works at Mision Caribe and served as our translator, and Miguel, our driver and also a pastor in Tegucigalpa. Miguel used to live out by La Victoria and we actually saw some of his family on the drive up.

– Michael Catalino

Actions

Information

One response

14 06 2010
gale catalino

Love visiting your blog !

Leave a Reply

